BBC Good Food Show Winter

As you may have guessed from some of my previous blog posts, I am rather a big fan of food. So when the opportunity arose for me to go to the BBC Good Food Show Winter last Saturday*, there was no way I was going to say no! 

When they day arrived we set off early and made our way up the M5 to the NEC in Birmingham – I wanted to make sure I had enough time to sample as many tasty treats as possible, and I didn’t want to miss an opportunity to see the one and only Mary Berry in the flesh!

  
If you’ve been to a show here before (I’ve been to the Clothes Show a couple of times in the past), you’ll know just how huge this exhibition centre is – wearing comfy shoes are essential as it feels like you’ve walked miles by the end of the day!

After collecting my press pass (and feeling rather snazzy I must say…) we made our way inside – and I was immediately blown away by how many stalls there were, just take a look for yourself!

   

As we made our way through the show, I was pleasantly surprised to see that as well as big names such as Covent Garden Soup Co and Saucy Fish Co, there were also several independent companies that wanted to show off their wares. And needless to say, I worked my way through the various free samples that were on offer!

   

Some brands that caught my eye included Naughty but Rice, who make delicious rice pudding, but with a twist! Sold in perfectly sized pots, I tried the Raspberry and Coconut flavour during the show, and will certainly be picking up some more on my next trip to the supermarket, delicious! 

  

Next up was Sponge, who make miniature sponge cakes in a variety of delectable flavours for just £1 each. I couldn’t resist trying one for myself, and the chocolate flavoured version I purchased was everything you want a cake to be, without the guilt of eating a huge slice!

 

I was also happy to see that debbie&andrews had a stand at the show too – you may remember I tried some of their sausages in an Orchard Pan Roast recipe recently. They have just launched a Christmas range, and I enjoyed having a browse of their stall to see what they had to offer.

   

  

I think you’ll agree that this Garnish Selection Box*, complete with a selection of 24 mini pork sausages, pigs in blankets and stuffing balls looks super tasty! 

  
In my opinion, having pigs in blankets with my Christmas dinner is essential, and I’m looking forward to trying these on the big day in a few weeks’ time. If you are looking for something new to try on your festive dinner table this year, their products come highly recommended by me!

So what were the highlights of the show for me? Well I really enjoyed seeing Mary Berry and Paul Hollywood, and their Supertheatre show was just as good as I had hoped it would be – all the chemistry that we are so used to seeing on Great British Bake Off was there!

  

Seeing chef Tom Kerridge interviewed was also really entertaining, not only because he’s a native of the West Country too! I enjoyed hearing his story, especially when he spoke about his school days and how he thinks his greatest achievement is his pub, The Hand and Flowers, receiving two Michelin stars, which is apparently unheard of for pubs today.

  

I also loved wandering around and watching the live cooking demonstrations – here’s TV chef Dean Edwards cooking a tasty Salmon dish on the OXO stage.

   

As the show drew to a close for the day, with our tummies full and our enormous bag of purchases and free goodies in tow, we made our way back to the car for the journey back to Bristol. I had a fantastic time at the show, and will certainly be visiting again next year!

 If you fancy visiting the BBC Good Food Show for yourself, the next one is the Summer show from 16-19 June 2016 – to find out more, click here. 

Did you visit BBC Good Food Show Winter this year? I’d love to hear your thoughts!

 *Although I was invited to the show for the purpose of review, the words, thoughts and opinions are all my own

Leave a Reply

