A Festive Weekend

I think it’s fair to say that last weekend I well and truly got in the festive spirit – despite the fact that it’s far from cold outside and it doesn’t feel like it’s December at all, there’s no escaping the fact that Christmas is just around the corner!
image1 (9)
On Friday night, I went along to the Chipping Sodbury Victorian Day celebrations – as you may know from reading my previous blog post, this is an annual event where the shops on the high street stay open late, there’s lots of festive fayre and the shop keepers get in the spirit and dress up as Victorians too.
image2 (6)
Here are some of my highlights from the evening:
image2 (4)
Can you see the snow?!
image1 (7)
Festive carol singers
image3 (4)
The shop keepers and stall owners transform into Victorians for the day!
As I mentioned in my previous blog, Chipping Sodbury High Street really is a great place to visit – if you still have some Christmas shopping left to do, why not take a trip and see for yourself?
IMG_1497
Visiting Bath Christmas Market was also on my list of festive activities for the weekend, and so I went along on Sunday.
As expected, it took us ages to park (note to self – get the park and ride next time!) but when we finally arrived I just couldn’t believe how busy it was, look at all these people!
image3 (3)
We started off by taking a wander past the stalls next to Bath Abbey – I think the photo below captures just how picturesque this particular Christmas market is.
FullSizeRender
To the delight of my stomach (which had just started to rumble), we stumbled across Pieminister’s stall – the smell of pies was too good to resist, and so I ordered a Freeranger (with a chicken, ham and leek filling), complete with mash and gravy – it was amazing, just what I needed to keep me warm on a chilly day!
image3 (2)
After eating, we continued to browse the stalls for the rest of the afternoon, before enjoying a cheeky mince pie (first of the festive season!) and heading home- if like me you have yet to finish your Christmas shopping, I am certain you would find the perfect gift here!
IMG_1493
Bath Christmas Market is on until Sunday 13th December, and is open Monday to Wednesday from 10am to 7pm , Thursday to Saturday from 10am to 8:30pm and on Sunday from 10am to 6pm.  I can definitely recommend visiting if you’re free to pop along before it disappears for another year! In my opinion it’s the perfect place to grab a cup of mulled wine after work and have a browse of the Christmassy goods on offer – what could be better at this time of year?!
image2 (2)
Did you get up to anything festive last weekend? I’d love to hear!
Leave a Reply

