Enchanted Christmas at Westonbirt Arboretum

There’s definitely a chill in the air and the evenings are getting darker, which can only mean one thing – Christmas is just around the corner!

I love this time of year and everything that comes with it – the clothes, the footwear and of course the food and drink too! Last year I got in the festive spirit by visiting Bath Christmas Market and the Winter BBC Good Food Show, but this year I was in the mood to do something a bit different…

I have been to Westonbirt Arboretum several times over the years, as it’s not too far from where I grew up, and have heard lots of good things about their annual Enchanted Christmas event from friends and family that have been before – so this year I decided to give it a try for myself!

Described on the Arboretum’s website as “an illuminated celebration of Westonbirt’s wonderful trees”, I was intrigued to go along and see what all the fuss was about. So on Sunday evening, I wrapped up warm and headed out of Bristol for a walk and some fresh air.

img_3863

Driving into the Westonbirt estate, I was struck by how many cars and people there were – it was clear to see that this event is certainly popular. After we parked in the free car park and began to wander through the entrance, I could see some pretty illuminated trees in the distance and was excited to see what else the evening had in store.

dsc_0067

As we made our way through the food tent, we were welcomed by the delicious smells of roast pork rolls, roast chestnuts, mulled wine and mulled cider – needless to say I couldn’t resist ordering some of the latter to enjoy as I wandered round.

img_3865

Before we embarked on the Enchanted Christmas trail (which is about a mile long in length), we decided to browse the Arboretum’s gift shop, where some lovely Christmas decorations caught my eye. I enjoyed having a wander round and looking at the range of items that were on sale, such as candles, books and homeware – the cosy log fire also provided a welcome break from the cold winter air outside!

As we made our way out of the shop, we were surprised to see that a fairy had appeared – I’ve not seen one of those at Westonbirt before!

dsc_0077

After stopping to take a few photos of the fairy alongside some very excited boys and girls and listening to a choir that had started to sing some Christmas carols, we headed towards the start of the trail, eager to see what other sights awaited us as we walked along.

dsc_0098

If you’re thinking of visiting Enchanted Christmas for yourself then I don’t want to give too much about the trail away, but to give you an idea of what you can expect, here are some photos showing my highlights of the evening:

dsc_0100

dsc_0126

dsc_0154

dsc_0169

I really enjoyed my time at Westonbirt’s Enchanted Christmas, and think it provides all ages with the perfect way to get into the festive spirit.  The walk was completely flat and took us about 30 minutes in total, although it could take more or less depending on how fast you go! For the little one’s there’s also the chance to meet Father Christmas, plus lots of surprises along the trail to ensure they are kept entertained too.

img_3872

The event is taking place on Friday, Saturday and Sunday evenings until Sunday 18th December, and if you fancy going along and experiencing the trail for yourself, you need to book tickets tickets online in advance here,– they cost £12 for adults, £10 for students and £6 for children aged between 5 and 18 – under 5’s go free!

Have you visited Westonbirt Arboretum or the Enchanted Christmas event before? I’d love to know what you thought! Tell me about your experience by commenting below.

Leave a Reply

